Creative Play with Rocks for Toddlers

I gave my son a bag of rocks for Easter.   I am not a mean mother!   That is what he asked for… seriously!

I wanted to show him some fun activities he can do with rocks; besides throwing.

Thankfully, I found some great ideas on the web.

Easy Rock Moisaic @ motherhoodonadime.com

rock moisaic

Salt Dough

1 cup salt

2 cup flour

1 3/4 cup water

Bake at 250 degrees for two hours.

This can be a wonderful experience for children with sensory needs.  Have your child step on the rocks with their feet.  (use smooth rocks for this activity)

We can make a simple design  with rocks or make the mosaic larger and turn it into a battle field or a land where dinosaurs can  tromp.

 

Rock Rumble Painting @ notjustcute.com

rock rumble painting

 

 

I remembered doing this when I was young.   I am excited just thinking about doing this again with my child.

 

 

Tumble Painting with Rocks @ motherhoodonadime.com

rock tumble

I think this will be a great musical rythem activity as well.

 

 

 

Stone Soup & Story @ motherhoodonadime.com

Stone Soup

 

 

 

Pick out a stone together and make the soup with children .

 

Stone Towers@ Inspirationlaboratiories.com

stone-craft-with-owls

 

 

 

 

 

 

Towers can be made with magnetic rocks.  This can be a battle station, moon rocks with aliens, or tunnels for trains!

 

 

Painting Rocks @ Play DR Mom

painting rocks

This reminded me of the time my grandma let me melt crayons on the hot rock…ooh, that brings back memories!

This blogger has more  pictures to see at her blog.  It is a easy read journal  about how a  busy mom can share a quality time with kids.

 

 

 

 

Stone Homes @Thinlyspread.co.uk

stone home

 

 

 

This can be a family activity…  It’s exciting just to think  about what we can do with these houses.  This is a wonderful activity for older children but this needs some additional steps to accommodate different painting  levels in young children.

 

 

Stone Monsters @ redtedart.com

Rock-Monsters

 

 

 

 

This mom extended her art activity and played hide and seek  with these rocks.  I thought that was a very neat idea!  She has more pictures about the entire activity in her blog.

 

 

Painting Rocks With Chalk @ connectingfamilyand seoul.com

chalk paint rock

 

 

 

This is a great sensory play for young children and great activity for building family culture.   A nice low key activity .

All we need now is the warm weather to go out and play.

 

Here are some more fun activities for  toddlers.

Homemade Dirt Recipe for Sensory Play

Simple and Easy Colored Pasta Recipe

Homemade Rainbow Snow Recipe

Kitchen Garden Experiment from Food Scraps

Homemade Art Supplies

 

 

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, Child Development, DIY Ideas, Good Things, Good To Know and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Creative Play with Rocks for Toddlers

  1. PlayDrMom says:

    What a ROCKIN’ list! Thanks for including my post!

  2. Amanda says:

    Thanks for including me in your post! I had almost forgotten about that fun activity!

  3. Pingback: Fun Spring Time Activities for Young Children | Simple Planner

Leave a comment