DIY Stained Popsicle Sticks with Food Coloring




popsicle cover

My daughter wanted to make something for her friends at school.  We recently found out some of her friends are moving away and will not return to school in the fall.  Also, we wanted to finish this school  year in a cheerful way.

After a brief brainstorming, we came up with  glitter jello playdough, rainbow popsicle sticks and colored pasta for gifts.

Last night, we bought a box of 1,000 popsicles at a crafting store for $6.    We used the Stained Clothespins with Food Coloring recipe and direction to stain the popsicle sticks.

I chose the food coloring stain because I didn’t  want children to get exposed to toxic stains.  My daughter is still putting things in her mouth at age 7.

We mixed the food coloring and vinegar in the plastic cups.  I personally don’t like the strong smell of vinegar but,  my kids didn’t seem to mind the mixing process.  I boiled water in the microwave and added the boiling water.  Kids helped with placing popsicle  sticks in the colored vinegar stain.

Kids were fascinated to see the stains being absorbed by each stick.  I was having fun too and forgot to take pictures of my kids.  We left the sticks in the cups over night.

Next morning, we found these sticks in the cups.

sticks in the cup

I loved how they turned out!  My kids did too… they were clapping with excitement.

drying sticks

I set them out to air dry but the vinegar smell was getting to me  so I decided to bake them in the oven  at 245 degrees for 30 minutes.

cooked stcks

This is how they looked when they came out from the oven.  They  are still damp but the vinegar smell is almost gone.

stained pasta

I used the remaining  colored stain to color pasta.  This is my first time trying out the vinegar water to color pasta.  I  always preferred using alcohol instead.  I love how the colors turned out, they are bolder and more vibrant.

My only regret is that I didn’t wear gloves during this project.  The palm of my hands have turned brown from all the stains.

As I was cleaning up, my son brings one of his wooden train track and dips it into a cup of  colored stain.  He  wanted to stain his wooden train tracks…. can you guess what our next project will be?

Thank You Blog Sign

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Weekly Kids Co-Op

 

The Kid’s Co-Op features the best of the best kids’ ideas of the week. Follow on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest & visit each of the awesome Bloggers who co-host this link party.  By linking up your post will be viewed on over 15 great blogs. *Also by linking up, you agree to your images being pinned & shared with credit.

 

(Submissions close in 5d 1h 17m)

 

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, DIY Ideas, Good To Know and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment