DIY Simple and Easy Colored Pasta

My son and I saw these and couldn’t pass the deal on pastas.  They were dollar a box.
I soon realized,  I never colored pasta with my kids!  I used to do this all the time!

tumblr_l577rlWgal1qcyij7o1_400

There are many uses of  colored pasta.  You can sort them by color, size, or shapes, string them, count them, make pattern,  decorate with them,  use them in the sensory box, teach groups and sets and etc.

After dinner, we quickly cleared the table for the activity.  I let my older child ( age 7)  use measuring cup and add food color gel.  My younger son (age 3)  helped me with adding pasta.   I think mommy and daddy had more fun than kids.  Hopefully, they will be more excited once the pasta is all dried and ready for crafts.

Directions

IMG_1200

 

 

 

 

  • You can use any kind of pasta.  I just used these because they were on sale.
  • Yogurt or margarine  plastic tub containers  work well.  (I used gallon zip lock bag thinking it will be better for kids to see,  but it started leaking and made more mess for us.)
  • my ratio for alcohol and pasta is  1 :  1 1/2  (Example: 1 cup of alcohol :  1 1/2 cup of pasta)
  • I used food gel for coloring this time but food color liquid works well too.
  • You can use more food coloring for bold colors.
  • Once  all the ingredients are in the bag or container, toss the pasta so they are evenly and well mixed with coloring solution.

IMG_1203

 

 

 

 

 

  • I used cookie sheet and kitchen towel to place under the bags.  (I took extra caution because I was working with young children.)
  • I am leaving them in the bag overnight. ( 8 hours)
  • In the morning I will take them out of the bag, drain them (no wash or rinse) , and put them on wax paper  and place them in airy and cool area to dry.
  • Once the pasta is completely dried, they are ready for crafts.
About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, DIY Ideas, Good Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIY Simple and Easy Colored Pasta

  1. Pingback: Homemade Rainbow Snow Recipe | Simple Planner

  2. Pingback: Creative Play with Rocks for Toddlers | Simple Planner

  3. Pingback: Back to Basics: DIY Sensory Play Recipes | Simple Planner

Leave a Reply

