How to Help Your Child During Stressful Times

ea6140a2b0ce137ac3717aed918a407cIn the car, on the way to school…

Daughter:  mommy, what can I do when something or  a kid reminds me of  the bad times, and makes me get scared all over again?

Me:  Yes, sometimes that happens to me too.    I think those bad memories will stay with you for a long time.

when you get those feelings,  tell yourself:  yes, that was a stressful and bad time for me but it is all over now.   I need  time to get better and I need to focus more on all the exciting, fun, and happy things that are coming my way.  I am stronger and braver from those experiences.  I am very proud of myself.  I am a champion!

f61ea5eac9cd06558004873ec0b1306a

Daughter: mommy, I wish all grown ups can talk like you .

Me: why do you say that?

Daughter: Because you can help me believe that I am strong.

Me: Yes, you are strong!  I love you!

*******************************************************

I decided to blog about this topic when I noticed there are so many children going through lots of stressful situations at school.  As parents, we want to help but we don’t know where to go for guidance and suggestions.

IMG_6628I don’t have all the answers.  There is no one way to fix all the problems, the best thing anyone can do is be there for your child and give it your best shot.

My child had been bullied at school, teased for having black hair, wearing clothes from different countries, having too many knit scarves, doing well in school, and the list goes on…

Speaking from experience, it is a good rule of thumb to keep stressful situations in the family.  When too many people gets involved, it’s only  more added stress.  At  least that is how it was for me.  I have an introverted personality (If you haven’t noticed by now).

Speaking of introverts/extroverts, do you know your personality type?  Do you know your child’s personality type?  Here is a blog about an introduction to understanding your child’s temperament and brief  explanation for how to  parent children with each personality type.  It’s a helpful information to know that there are different parenting styles for each personality type.

What if you want to help but, you don’t know how to do it?  Ask the experts.

You can’t  afford one?   Neither can I!

What is the next best thing?  Go check out their blog!

I like this blog from a Child Psychologist, Dr. Laura Hutchinson.  Here she blogs about incorporating toys and games to help your child recognize different feelings and lean the skills for coping with stress.

When your child come home with problems form school.   Calm down.  Take a deep breath.  Buckle your seat belt.  You may be in for a ride and remember,  your child’s needs come first.  You can read about my experiences here, here, and here.

Your efforts will help your child understand they have their family support and that is the greatest confidence builder for any child.

This is the collection of  blogs to help  you and your child during stressful times.

Understanding Your Child’s Temperament

Playful Activities to Help Kids Lean About Feelings

Bully Proofing Your Child

Teaching How to React to Failures

Children’s Book Review on Bullying

Ways to Keep Kids talking and Sharing

How to Practice Active and Reflective Listening

Raising Girls Who Rock the World Pinboard at Pinterest

Build Confidence and Promote Positive Behavior

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Character Building & Parenting, Child Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

