DIY Budget Friendly Princess Treasures (PART 1)

WOW!

That is how I can describe your interest on my blog about Princess Theme Party.   You can read it here.

Thank You!

Let’s make an extension from my previous blog.  I love princess things… every girl must have the given right to be a princess.

You are here for two reasons : “Budget” and “DIY”

There are lots of cute and whimsical  things that can get you side tracked. Especially, when you look at toddler and children’s clothes.

Let’s get real!  Cute and whimsical won’t last much after all the party is done.

When all the guest leaves, you are left with decorations to clean up, new toys to put away, make room for new things, and think of the way to get rid or put away old things.

In the end, I  consider  “cute and whimsical”  things as more money down the drain and more work for you!

I am speaking out of experience.   Let’s not get side tracked!   Focus!  You can do this!

Budget = Things you can use more than once!

 Formula:

  • Set a realistic budget for your party. (try only using the budget you already put away )
  • For example:  I like to feed my guests, nobody leaves my party hungry! 65% to 70% of my preset budget will go to food and all the things we will need to serve the food. ( this includes cake and ice cream)  15% on stuff for Princess.  15% on decorations, invitations, thank you notes, games or craft, and favors.

Shopping:

  • Look in your child’s closet ( broken toys, pretty clothes your child has out grown, hair accessories,or jewelery you can upcycle)
  • Look in your craft box, closet,  or stash of things you bought on clearance thinking you will use someday.
  • Get some ideas online, ask your princess what type of princess she wants to be.  Most likely, a young child  will call out a name from Disney’s Princess.  The older girls will want to  try out  new  things related to princess.  For example, my daughter asked for princess stuff with hot pink things.
  • Look for texture, details, colors, and fabric combinations when you are looking at pictures.
  • Ask yourself:  Is it age appropriate?  Is this what is in fashion now?  Will those colors go with my daughter’s complexion?  Will it be a comfortable fit?    How and what can I use to get that look in my daughter’s outfit?  Will it cost too much to get that look?  Do I have enough time to make this work?  Do I know anyone who can help?
  • Make an  idea board or sketch out a party design.
  • Now, you are ready to go out  the door and go shopping in stores. Leave your cards at home ONLY TAKE CASH!  Why? You are on budget, you don’t have extra funds in your budget for  unnecessary extra value things on clearance.
  • Check out the consignment stores, Good Will, Arc.,  or Dollar store before going to the mall.

Pictures of  Inspirations

1b9e76c147fed5d37d174c4ebf0ac10c

 

 

 

 

I like the hat and ribbon accent on this outfit.  I was thinking of using cotton shirt and sew on some tulle around shoulder, add a skirt using tulle, and use a ribbon to accent the outfit.

 

 

8fbc8a6d3f60f495f68a881562c4d9ce

 

 

 

This can be a tank top and skirt outfit. add golden shimmer  paint   for accent  on the shoulder strap and a log ribbon around the waist. I can also add thin strips of tulle below the golden shimmer.

 

 

5443f4bc2842280d5fbf3cf5ef41bf8b

 

 

 

I liked the idea of long flowing dress.  This will be great for a party with family but not so versatile for a child who wants to play outside.

 

 

c248b3b33d3d8ed19b6d91e1f78a7798

 

 

 

 

I like the messy tulle and big flower look.  I can even upcycle the table-cloth!   I would make the hem shorter.

 

 

2c1e9e9859dd52e12e77e086bec0db50

 

 

 

 

“…and she wore DIOR  because Dior  is divine.” Well said, Eloise!  I love this shade of pink and two layered skirt.

 

 

Next group of pictures are for showing  how a simple accent can complete the garment.

 

1db7953e8e975fdc755977adb62cb7c6

 

 

 

 

 

Matching lace around the top of leggings.

 

efcb7939fa0e58514899acc578208ff4

 

 

 

 

 

Different shades of flowers .. thinking of using round tulle for this look with chunky yarn.

 

20ca440197739b656c48c4ac2589d106

 

 

 

 

Combination of different shape, size and color tulle on the hem.

 

 

071638bab2b9bf6dcc29f988c9a394ae

 

 

 

 

Uneven layered hem, contrasting shades of tulle, and  printed fabric under layered tulle.

 

 

ad4d4e441d0cbe300112258ec51736ba

 

 

 

My sister and I used to call this ” car wash ” skirt  and I am glad it’s making a come back.

 

 

 

45a969b7548a0e88f0d0d5e937e76cb2

 

 

 

 

 

The big bow!  I love it!

 

 

88a96b6ec6214bab0dc891848e22a766

 

 

 

 

 

Love, Love, love the big flower!

 

  • Set the limit of  $15 or less on the outfit.  If it costs more, you might as well go to the mall and get one on clearance.
  •  Consider using the outfits your princess has outgrown and add to the details on your upcycled outfit.

DIY Tutorials

 

Party in the Back @ creatingbycami.blogspot.com

knit dress

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Art Inspired Dress @ thegirlinspired.com

art inspired collage2

 

 

 

This is a great dress to upcycle!

Use the preexisting simple dress and add details on it.
I see felt flowers, buttons, ribbons, or round tulle.

 

 

Princess Dress @ thegirlinspired.com

princess gown1

 

 

 

 

I’ve seen these style of dress often at Consignment  stores.   (check for coupon before you go)

There are still more information to post… I decided to make this three part blog.   My next blog will  focus more on DIY  tutorials.

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, Bargan Budgeting, Good Things, Good To Know and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to DIY Budget Friendly Princess Treasures (PART 1)

  1. Pingback: DIY Budget Friendly Princess Treasures (Part 2) | Simple Planner

  2. Pv Solar says:

    First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Many thanks!

    • I understand what you mean. I get writer’s block all the time too.
      I usually have sticky notes or little not pads near by.
      I write one or two sentences that can activate my thought when I revisit it at later time. I read things online to see how others are taking on same topic. I focus on thing that I am most passionate about. I try to take risk sometimes. I guess some readers like my style because I talk about some topics most people wouldn’t. Take you time, you don’t have to finish writing your blog in one sitting. I hope my rambling help answer your question.

      Happy Writing!

  3. Informative article, totally what I wanted to find.

  4. Eloise says:

    Wow, wonderful blog format! How long have you ever been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog glance easy. The entire glance of your website is magnificent, let
    alone the content!

  5. If you want to increase your knowledge just keep visiting this site and be updated with the
    latest news update posted here.

  6. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  7. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful!
    Thanks!

  8. Kai says:

    I believe this is one of the so much significant info for me.
    And i am satisfied studying your article. However should statement on few basic issues, The website style is perfect, the articles is truly excellent :
    D. Just right activity, cheers

  9. Serena says:

    I visited several sites but the audio quality for audio songs current
    at this web page is genuinely excellent.

Leave a Reply

