DIY Budget Friendly Toys for Little Builders

construction

 

 

 

 

Yesterday, I blogged about how my kids are outgrowing many toys that are manufactured by most toy companies.    In my attempts to look for alternative ideas, I fell in love with “construction” again. To me, construction has always been a way to build things to express my creativity and put my imagination to work.   Ever since I was a young girl, I loved creating things with  any recycled materials .  They are free, or close to costing nothing, and no one will mind when things get broken or destroyed.  There are so many wonderful ideas on the web.  Anyone can get lost in the moment of  just looking at pictures.

Cardboard Box Creations

Tutorial: How to Work with Cardboard

Still not sure where to begin?  This blog can give you some motivations.

cardboard

Tutorial: How to Work with Cardboard

 

 

This blogger will take you step by step on how to collect  materials, how to store them, techniques on how to score, fold, and cut cardboard,  what materials work well, and examples on her finished project.

Images That Can Inspire Anyone

tunnel

Train Tunnels and Highway with Traffic Jams

toycarwash9

Toy Car Wash

Screen-Shot-2013-01-10-at-20.22.55-201x300

A Ship for Little Captain

oliver_01_rect540

All Aboard! Express Train

836182c587ac0eeab97a1e3c62667a95

Rail Road Train Track

indoor slide

Indoor Slide

3ac1919a8d26e015d77825d2fcc8c569

Indoor Drive In

 

 

Hello Again!

I hope you enjoyed these pictures.  I hope they gave you inspiration for your project.

The great thing about cardboard creation is that you spend little or no money in gathering materials and when kids are done playing with it, you can just toss it in the recycle bin.

As I was gathering these information, they reminded me of the time when  I  tutored a boy with Autism.  His favorite tinker toy was cardboard.  I loved to watch his face light up when I walked in the front door with a shoe box  or a piece of cardboard.   I did most of the construction but he provided all  the ideas and details.  He was  nonverbal but during our creative process, he made his attempts to communicate.    I wonder how he is doing now… he will be in his  late 20’s.

I gathered the next  group of ideas with Geometry and Engineering  in mind.  These will be great for school age children.

News Papers or Recycled Phone Book

Geodesic Dome Tutorial @ spoonful.com

famf39newspaper_domc

Geodesic Dome Tutorial

Geodesic dome @ spoonful.com

geodesic-dome-craft-photo-420-FF0909EFW16

Geodesic Dome Craft

pool noodle lincolin logs

Solutions Toy CO.

This one is just an image but I thought this is a wonderful idea for working with phone book  pages.

You can build a miniature version of it.

Slotted Card Board Shape

shape templet

Template Only

card board rectangles

building discs

Building Discs

Constructions with shapes.

Constructions with Recycled Materials

toilet paper rolls and pencils

Toilet Paper Rolls and Pencils

pACKAGE POP CORN

Packaging Popcorn and Tooth Picks

STEROPHOME

Packaging Foam and Tooth Picks

paper house

Paper Bag and Construction Papers

Constructions with Food

gumdrop

Gum Drops

Marshmallow-Straw-Towers

Marshmallow and Straws

Grapes, blue berries,  gum drops, marshmallows, jelly beans, gummy bears and etc.

They are all fun way to keep kids busy and engaged for long time.

Constructing Forts

furniture fort

Furniture Fort

building fort

Build a Fort

Constructions with Popsicle Sticks

popcycle sticks

Velcro Popsicle Sticks

Engineering a Bridge @ scholastic.com

2011-12-12-Scholastic_4_Bridges_HEADER

4 Bridges

Tutorial: Popsicle Stick House @ marthastewart.com

tutorila popcycle house

Tutorial Popsicle House

Construction with PVC Pipes and Connectors

Tutorial: PVC Pipe Playhouse @ angryjuliemonday.com

pvc play house tutorial

PVC Play House Tutorial

pcv connections

PVC  Pipes and Connectors

Table Activities for Building Fine Motor

tear it apart

Take it Apart

Find a broken electronic device and let them take it apart.

paracticle skill

Matching Nuts and Bolts

Nuts and bolts size matching

Thank You for showing your interest and your comments of motivation!

Here is my  next  one in my DIY TOY BLOG series.

DIY Budget Friendly Toy Blocks

blocks

DIY Budget Friendly Dolls for Girls and Boys

dolls

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, Bargan Budgeting, Child Development, DIY Ideas, Good Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to DIY Budget Friendly Toys for Little Builders

  1. Lorena says:

    Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it out.

  2. Melissa says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  3. Pingback: DIY Budget Friendly Toy Blocks | Simple Planner

  4. Pingback: DIY Budget Friendly Dolls for Girls and Boys | Simple Planner

  5. Gornie says:

    I actually wanted to post a brief comment so as to say thanks to you for these great recommendations you are posting on this website. My long internet investigation has now been recognized with good quality content to talk about with my family members. I would repeat that most of us website visitors are quite blessed to dwell in a very good site with many brilliant individuals with useful secrets. I feel somewhat privileged to have encountered your entire site and look forward to tons of more enjoyable minutes reading here. Thanks again for a lot of things.

  6. Sheri says:

    Hi! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for your great info you have here on this post.
    I am returning to your web site for more soon.

  7. Reece says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

