My Caterpillar Says Meow

My son was enjoying the company of his Very Hungry Caterpillar doll…

Me: What will caterpillar say?

Son: I dono, caterpillar don’t talk!

Me: Well, if they can talk, what do you think he will say?

Son:  Uhhhh… Meow!

Me: Why Meow?

Son: Because it’s a CAT-erpillar!

 

My favorite early childhood book is The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carl.   The book shows the stages of metamorphosis, teaches days of the week, numbers 1 to 5 in sequence, and pages are filled with bright cheerful  illustrations.

I gave my son a copy of this  book for his second birthday and he loves the story.   I went on the web to see what other story extensions I can do with him.

 

Eric Carl Shares His Book

This is  from You Tube.  Mr. Carl shares how he made this book.  Its been more than 40 years.

 

Online Storytime Books @ barnesandnoble.com

The story is read at much slower pace by Mr. Carl.  You have to click on the sun located under the screen to view the story.  There are lot other online audio stories to enjoy and they are all free.

 

Caterpillar Necklace @ buggyandbuddy.com

Great for hand eye coordination, patterning, tri- pod grasp practice, color recognition,  and  all around fun activity.

caterpillar-necklacewm1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Snack Idea @ gourmetmomonthego.com

Fun way to teach healthy foods.

snack idea

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Story Retelling @ teachingheart.net

zip lock story

 

 

 

 

 

 

Balloon Painting @ iheartcraftythings.com

balloon painting

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some images with more great ideas.

 

caterpillar clothes pins

 

 

 

 

Clothes Pin Caterpillars

 

 

caterpillar kitchen style

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caterpillar in the Kitchen

 

hand print

 

 

 

 

 

Hand Print Caterpillar

 

 

play dough caterpillar

 

 

 

 

 

 

Playdough Caterpillar

 

butterfly

 

 

 

 

 

Beautiful Butterfly – it doesn’t have to be this fancy, twist the pillow cover in the middle and tie the ends to the kid’s wist.

 

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, Character Building & Parenting, DIY Ideas, Good Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

