Homemade Toys and Games

In our home, we have a delightful challenge.

Kids are out-growing toys from most toy companies and we have to come up with other ways to engage kids in their imaginative play.  Couple weekends ago, we were at Home Depot’s  plumbing department to get supplies for the water wall we are building for summer time fun.  Today, we were at Costco and my son points to one of the cardboard boxes at check out, then asks me, ” mommy, can you make race car tracks?”  We brought few boxes home and I drew on some roads with my permanent marker.  Kids loved it!  They played with it for hours!

When I was young, I did not have the luxury of owning  any store-bought name brand toys.  The good thing about that was my sisters and I used our imaginations and invented our own toys.  I recall, some of our inventions were great hit with our neighborhood friends. They all came over to play with them.

I wanted my kids to own some of the toys I  did not have as a child, but it turns out, my kids rather want to make their own toys.   I found some  neat ideas on the web that I want to try with my kids.  I decided to put some of those ideas  into series of  blogs.  These toys  won’t take much money or  your time to make but kids will have so much fun with them.   I will begin with Construction then continue my series with  Trains, Blocks, Tubes and Tracks, Wheels ( Transportation ), Out Door Fun,  Water Walls, and add more ideas as I find them or get inspired.

I do not want you to get intimidated by some of the great presentations others made on their projects. Remember, lot of these designers  are professionals and have done these may times, this is their job.   Often times, the process and the time you spend on making things with your kids are worth more to your kids and they will remember those moments for long time.

Try and draw out your plan before you begin your project.  Your kids can help too.  It’s much easier to use a plan when you go shopping for supplies or go digging in the recycle bins for parts.   It really doesn’t matter how much time or effort you put into your layouts.   If you can understand the stick figures, go for it!

When you go shopping for parts, here is a helpful tip.  If your part costs more than $1,  you’re paying too much!  Your best alternative is to come up with another way to make  it work.

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Arts, Crafts, and Games, Bargan Budgeting, Good Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

