Ideas for Helping Your Toddler with Sensory Overloard During Meal and Bath Time

I used to have most difficult time with my son during meals and getting ready for bath.  He would cry, yell, throw things in protest against my directions to complete  a task.   I tried to show actions of understanding but there were lots of times it just ended up being a power struggle.  I was running out of resources real quick.  Then I started thinking back to when  I was raising my daughter,  my first born.  We used to have similar conflict when she would have Sensory Overload.   The Sensory Overload happens when one of body’s senses experiences over- stimulation form the environment.   I am not well educated in this field of  study to explain the reasons why these things happen.   However, I was willing to try anything to help my son during meal and bath time.

These are  the things  I’ve tried: 

  • Overcome your fear on trying new things for your child and have fun.
  • During meal and bath time, try to introduce or change one to two new things from these categories:  taste, size, shape, texture, or color.
  •  For example,  my son loves macaroni and cheese with hotdogs.  I can change the macaroni to different pasta that is similar in size (change in shape),  I can cut the hotdogs (size),  or I can introduce him to corn dog when he is ready (taste and texture).
  • Bath time was little easier.  I used bubble bath (unscented),  I tried food coloring in water,  shaving cream for him to play on the wall, and let him pick out toys to play in the bath.
  • When your child is ready, ask how they want their meal… you’ll be pleasantly surprised!
  • When your child wants to choose something that is not available or is not safe, explain the situation to them and offer the alternative.

Here are few more ideas…

10 Tips on Picky Eaters @ Mayoclinic

Picky Eating and Toddlers

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Character Building & Parenting, Child Development, Cooking With Young Children and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

