Bully-Be-GONE!

My Daughter was bullied at school by another student in her second grade class.  As a concerned parent,  I requested a meeting with the classroom teacher, principal, and vice- principal.   While I was walking out of the meeting,  I considered that experience to be my worst mistake.    It felt like I was lectured by an automatic prerecorded answering service.  I understand teacher/ school had lots of other issues to deal with but I expected more presence of compassion.

THEN IT HIT ME!

No one else knows her child better than a MOTHER!

I  quickly went to work on “bully-proofing”  my daughter…

  • I became her first BFF (best friend forever) – I wanted to role model how a true BFF should act. I listened to her and validated her feelings.
  • We had lots of girl talks and mommy & daughter play dates – we did lots of role-play where I pretended to be a bully.   I used  lots of words of encouragement so she can maintain her self-esteem and kept her away from thoughts of self-doubt
  • I looked for a pattern – I noticed my daughter opened up and shared her feelings  lot more when  we were conducting certain routine.   We kept that time slot free so she can speak and share her feelings comfortably.   I wanted her to feel that her voice can be heard and develop her confidence.
  • I gave her frequent actions of  love and called her my Champion at least 10 times a day.
  • We came up with 3 step process for  “Bully – Be – GONE”

1.  Nicely  say the things that are bothering you
2.  Get grownup’s attention
3.  Walk away and stay close to other children/ friends

My Child’s Measurable Difference in Performance

  • She is more focused in class.
  • She is more eager to go to school.
  • She has lot more courage – she reports to me that she talks to the child’s mother after school when ever there is a conflict.
  • She shows more emotional intelligence – she understands what other child is feeling and tries to come to more resourceful compromise.
About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Character Building & Parenting, Child Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bully-Be-GONE!

  1. I appreciate that you took matters into your hands and decided to be more present in your child’s life. The results really show 🙂 Many parents don’t consiously realise how much of a difference it makes to their child when they really are there for them. Blessings!

    • Thank You Urban Mystic for your comment. I can not speak for all parents but I wanted my actions to motivate other parents. You are right! There is difference in your child when they know and understand their parents will be there for them through thick and thin.

  2. anikacamsmom says:

    I think this is great. My 8 year old daughter was going through a similar thing at school a few weeks ago. After hearing about several different incidents, I didn’t waste anytime, and I took everything that she said seriously (unlike my mother when I was physically bullied by a boy at school when I was young). I emailed the teacher and we chatted via email back and forth. She involved the guidance counselor who was extremely helpful. The teacher is going to keep an eye on her and the way the classmates treat her. I am glad that I didn’t waste any time and got the teacher and guidance counselor involved. They will continue to watch situations in class and outside at recess. It’s so important to be present and to notice when something is a little ‘off’ with the kids.

  3. kcarlisle41 says:

    What’s really sad is that a school administration really sets the tone for the degree of bullying that can occur at school. With three sons on the autism spectrum, they have all endured bullying at some point at school and middle school was the worst. I’ve learned a lot through these experiences, and the first thing I learned is don’t let the school bully you! Check and see what your state laws are; some states require schools to use a bully report system that forces them to deal with the issue. Teachers and administrators can make a tremendous difference. Go to http://www.bullypolice.org for more information and a great resource.

  4. Pingback: My Rainbow After Storm | Simple Planner

  5. Pingback: How to Help Your Girl During Stressful Times | Simple Planner

Leave a Reply

