My 7 Year Old Girl’s Take on Aging : Winkles are Beautiful!

Few weeks ago…

My daughter brought home a creative writing assignment she was working on at school.  The topic was, ” What will you do when you are 100 years old?”   I guess by the looks of the topic, it is a safe assumption to think that it was one of the activity for 100th days of school.

This was my daughter’s response:

” when I am 100 years old I will have lots of winkles but look beautiful.  I will have lots of grand babies and  I will cook good food for them.  I will be an Artist and wear pretty dresses on the weekends.  I am excited about being old.”

When I read this for the first time, it caught me by surprise for three reasons.

  1. She thought winkles are beautiful
  2. she already has concrete idea on how she will interact with her grandchildren
  3. she already has  rough idea on what type of life -style she will have when she is a grown woman

I took a moment to reflect briefly on  Where and How she gathered these ideas on aging.

  • Books?    Well, she is into reading Judy Moody books now  and  when she was in her  “princess-diva” stage,  most of the old ladies  in  the books were wicked witches or evil step mothers.
  • My mom?   She is yoga loving, gardening, sewing, DIY-ing (do it yourself), fashion trend setting,  super awesome grandma but, she lives in California and  my daughter rarely has chance to interact with  her grandma.

It came to me…

  • We participated in various functions hosted by the public library where we’ve met ladies dressed in most colorful, original, unique, and interesting costumes during story time.
  • During carnival season , special functions,  holidays, we  met fairy god mother, tooth fairy, Mrs.  Clause, fairy and etc.

This was one of those rare moments where I had a chance to get glimpse of what kind of images are recorded in her mind.  I am relived to know that  our family outings are not forgotten or misplaced in her short-term memory.  I hope these mental images will continue to guide her in her dreams and goals to create a wonderful life for her.

Furthermore, Thank you ladies for volunteering, taking time to pay attention to little details, understanding all the needs of young children and embracing  them with gentle words and smile. ( You know who you are!)  Your efforts are not forgotten and you do definitely leave wonderful impressions on young children.  Thank You from the bottom of my heart.

Image

This is my mother who lives in California

About Stephanie Park

Hi, How are you? Thank You for visiting my profile. I am a Stay at Home Mother who loves keeping things real, pure, and simple. This is my vision. “How you do ANYTHING is How you do EVERYTHING!” I work from home, and help people by sharing and showing how to build an empires from their living room/ home office with nothing more than a computer or a laptop, an internet connection, and an unstoppable passion to succeed. My dream and passion is in sharing my gratitude I’ve learned from my journey as a "Online Networker" while staying at home with my family and empower everyone to discover their own hidden talents and create/ celebrate their success. If you find comfort in my vision… please stop by my Facebook page or call my home office and share your thoughts with me. >>>> https://www.facebook.com/simple.stephanie (719) 544 - 2002 Looking forward to connecting with you soon!
This entry was posted in Character Building & Parenting, Child Development, Good Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

